Colore's Notebook
Colore's Notebook
Rereading The Mirror by Louise Glück
0:00
-1:09

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Colore's Notebook

Rereading The Mirror by Louise Glück

04/03/2023 happyhappyhappy poetry month fun

Quick poem! Quick hello!

happy happy happy poetry month to you! And to me, yes, I’m still a freak 4 it!

My inner deadline for April 1st was approaching too fast for me to nail down a solid enough feeling project idea on how I could celebrate in a new way to begin working on in advance / the heart of last year’s readings was my bad habit of procrastination for things I rly care about + my willingness to be open to trying something new and xtrmly online…

Thank you for reading! Thank you for supporting me and my blog! and my personal writing and poetry, too. I’ll write more detailed daydreams and upcoming project plans for my reader-supported sends soon. I pulled a few spines forward from my library today to start picking through and noting for a few flash readings, for fun!

Tonite, I’m rereading The Mirror by Louise Glück.

<3


The Mirror

Watching you in the mirror I wonder 
what it is like to be so beautiful
and why you do not love
but cut yourself, shaving
like a blind man. I think you let me stare
so you can turn against yourself 
with greater violence,
needing to show me how you scrape the flesh away 
scornfully and without hesitation 
until I see you correctly, 
as a man bleeding, not 
the reflection I desire.

Louise Glück (1980)

This post is for paid subscribers

Colore's Notebook
Colore's Notebook
Body copy on local culture w/ hyper-pop-attn on live music, linked lines, and personal deep ends sent from my studio in Austin, TX.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Colore Grace Lincoln